Mission Statement

Black Tie Dinner is a non-profit organization that raises funds for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) supportive organizations serving North Texas through a premier event of empowerment, education and entertainment in partnership with the community.

What is Black Tie Dinner?

From its origins as a small fundraising dinner among friends in 1982, Black Tie Dinner has grown into the largest fundraising dinner in the nation for the LGBTQ community. Each year, Black Tie Dinner selects up to 20 non-profit organizations from North Texas as local beneficiaries of its fundraising, as well as the Human Rights Campaign Foundation as its national beneficiary. To date, Black Tie Dinner has distributed over $25 million dollars to a wide variety of organizations serving the needs of the LGBTQ community. Black Tie Dinner is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

Our History

The first Black Tie Dinner in 1982 produced a $6,000 donation to the Human Rights Campaign Foundation. Since then, the Dallas-based dinner has grown and prospered thanks to the support of the LGBTQ community and our allies. Because of the tireless effort and support of our many volunteers and sponsors, Black Tie Dinner has become one of the most successful fundraising dinners in the country and one of the biggest sources of funding for many North Texas LGBTQ organizations. For nearly 40 years, Black Tie Dinner has set the bar for LGBTQ fundraising in North Texas and plans to do the same for the next 40 to come.


Our Awards

Each year, Black Tie Dinner presents multiple awards that recognize individuals, organizations, or corporations that have made a significant contribution to the continued fight for LGBTQ equality.

Media Award

Established in 2008, the Black Tie Dinner Media Award is given to a recipient who has increased the awareness of LGBTQ issues in the media in a positive way. Past winners include Erich Bergen, Debra Messing, E! Entertainment, Dale Hansen, Fran Drescher and Peter Marc Jacobson, JCPenney, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Chely Wright, Cyndi Lauper, and Logo Network.

Elizabeth Birch Equality Award

Named for the former executive director of the Human Rights Campaign, the Elizabeth Birch Equality Award is awarded to a recipient who has shown a dedication to advancing and improving the rights of the LGBTQ community on a national level. Past recipients include Billy Porter, Edith Windsor, Greg Louganis, The Trevor Project, David Boies and Ted Olson, Zach Wahls, Chaz Bono, Eric Alva, American Airlines, Judy Shepard, Bishop V. Gene Robinson, Alan Cumming, Sharon Stone, Robert Greenblatt, and Showtime Networks, and Elizabeth Birch. 

Kuchling Humanitarian Award

Named in honor of the late Raymond Kuchling, a leading activist in the Dallas LGBTQ community in the 1980s, this award honors individuals who have made extraordinary gifts of their time and talents on behalf of the LGBTQ community. Recent past recipients include Don Maison, Kay Wilkinson, Rev. Eric Folkerth, Dr. Steven Pounders, and Melissa Grove.

Ally for Equality Award

Established in 2016, this award recognizes a distinguished ally of the LGBTQ community who, through personal and professional activities, has made a significant, positive impact on the LGBTQ community. Past recipients include Jessi Cruickshank, Terrence McNally, and Connie Britton. 

2020 Board of Directors

The Black Tie Dinner board is composed of multiple committees, each playing a vital role in the success of the Dinner. The entire Board of Directors is volunteer and is proud to serve the North Texas community.


Jeremy Hawpe

Board Co-Chair


Brad Pritchett

Board Co-Chair

Officers / Executive Committee

Jeremy Hawpe
Board Co-Chair
Brad Pritchett
Board Co-Chair
Sharon Anaston
Doug Bedell
Terry Loftis
Co-Chair Elect


Ethan Skinner
Auctions Co-Chair
Daniel Parker
Auctions Co-Chair
Nick Totin 
Advisory: Carter Lindley

Board Governance

Robert Mosser
Board Governance Chair
Advisory: Doug Frankel

Business Operations

Zac Rudd
Business Operations Chair
Ryne Young
Advisory: Dan Godfrey & David Sassano 

Community Relations

Kee Sourjohn
Community Relations Chair
Regina Lyn Pierce 
Advisory: David Gifford-Robinson 

Events & Program

Dana O'Connell
Events Chair
Terry Loftis
Program Chair
Liliana Villareal
Denton Bricker
Nicholas Rodriguez
Advisory: Jarrod Freeman & Scot Presley 


David Estrada
Marketing Co-Chair
Matt Ginn
Marketing Co-Chair
Brandon Baker
Tenay Barker
Advisory: Nathan Robbins 


Scott Bates
Raffle Chair
Advisory: Brian Batchelor 


Deirdre Coleman
Marcus DeMello-Silva
Advisory: Nathan Robbins, Stephen Gilhooly & Phillip Murrell 

Lifetime Advisory Board Members:

Bill Justice, Mary Mallory, Randy Ray, Dick Weaver, & Mitzi Lemons